China names its 42 mariculture pilot zones

Published on
April 30, 2017

China has published the full list of 42 demonstration zones for deep-sea offshore aquaculture, with the bulk of the sites located off the east coast provinces of Shandong, Liaoning, Zhejiang and Jiangsu. There are also sites planned off the coast of Guangdong and Guangxi provinces in the country’s south.  

China is seeking to greatly increase output from deep-sea aquaculture but competing uses of near-shore areas have made finding the right sites difficult. Petroleum exploration and coastal pollution are two particular challenges .

Aquaculture firms and investors are being encouraged to visit the sites, which are monitored by the Fisheries Bureau at the Ministry of Agriculture, to “get proper guidance” on offshore aquaculture, according to a statement from the ministry announcing the full list of sea zones with demonstration parks. 

Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500