New president at UFA


SeafoodSource staff

Published on
June 16, 2010

The United Fishermen of Alaska (UFA) on Tuesday announced that it elected Arni Thomson its new president.

Thomson, executive director of the Alaska Crab Coalition, will lead the statewide fishing trade association for 2010-11, replacing Joe Childers. He has served on the UFA board of directors since 1997 and as national committee chair since 2005. Thomson also serves as the shellfish committee chair for the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute.

“I intend to continue Childers’ work to elevate the public awareness of the importance of commercial fisheries, ensure that fishermen have access to fisheries, that those fisheries resources continue to be managed sustainably, and to continue the momentum of UFA’s increasing membership support from fishing groups and individual fishermen,” said Thomson.

Stephanie Madsen will take on Thomson’s former role as national chair. UFA also announced that Cheryl Sutton will replace Kathy Hansen as statewide chair, and Duncan Fields will replace Roland Maw as administrative chair.

All Supply & Trade stories >

Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500