Aquaculture Advisory Council elects representatives

Published on
September 17, 2019

The Aquaculture Advisory Council (AAC), a stakeholder-led representative organization that advises the European Commission about aquaculture management, has elected its newest representatives. 

Javier Ojeda, general secretary of APROMAR – the Spanish organization representing commercial fisheries in Spain – was re-elected chair.

Marc-Philip Buckhout, the aquaculture policy officer at Seas at Risk, was re-elected to the position of vice chair, a role he has held since 2016. 

Addy Risseeuw, the secretary of the Dutch Producers Organization of Mussel Growers, was elected second vice chair. 

During the meeting, the council also renewed the executive committee and welcomed the Croation Aquaculture Association as a new member. The council also approved the budget for 2020, as well as a work program. 

The AAC currently has 57 members in 16 member states. 

Photo courtesy of the Aquaculture Advisory Council

Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500