Poland Signs Eurofish Agreement

Poland yesterday took a step toward becoming a member country of Eurofish, an independent international organization that assists in the development of fisheries in Central and Eastern Europe.

Kazimierz Florian Plocke, the country’s secretary of state for agriculture and rural development, signed the Eurofish agreement at the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations in Rome. The agreement still has to be ratified by the Polish parliament.

Eurofish was adopted on May 23, 2000, and became effective on Oct. 12, 2001, when it was signed by five countries. Current member countries include Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Romania, Spain and Turkey.


Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500