SeaWeb names seven new Seafood Champions


SeafoodSource staff

Published on
March 19, 2011

SeaWeb announced the winners of the 2011 Seafood Champion Award at the International Boston Seafood Show on Sunday. The annual awards, established in 2006, are presented to those who have made significant strides in improving practices and awareness of sustainable seafood.

The winners are Robert Clark, executive chef of C Restaurant and Harry Kambolis, CEO of Kambolis Restaurant Group in Vancouver, Canada; Phil Gibson, group director-perishable for seafood, San Francisco-based retailer Safeway; Dune Lankard, founder and chairman of Eyak Preservation Council in Cordova, Alaska; Steve Phillips, president and CEO of Baltimore-based Phillips Foods; Olivier Roellinger, VP, Relais & Chateaux in Paris; and Peter Weeden, head chef of Paternoster Chop House in London.

“A true Seafood Champion is a leader who demonstrates dedication to responsibility in the seafood industry,” said SeaWeb President Dawn Martin. “Each of this year’s winners is paving the way toward environmental, social and economic sustainability to ensure a healthy future for seafood.”

The Seafood Champion Awards recognize outstanding leadership in advancing the market for sustainable seafood. Nominated by the seafood community and judged by a panel that includes previous winners, the awards have been bestowed upon individuals, companies and organizations from the fishing, aquaculture, seafood supply and distribution, retail, media, restaurant and foodservice sectors.

The awards are presented each year at the seafood show by SeaWeb’s Seafood Choices program.

Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500