22 appointees named to US regional fishery management councils

Published on
July 5, 2017

The U.S. Commerce Department recently announced its appointment of 22 new and returning members to the eight U.S. regional fishery management councils.

Council members are nominated by the governors of fishing states, territories and tribal governments and are selected by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce. Council members serve a three-year term and can get reappointed to serve three consecutive terms.

The councils partner with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA) to prepare fishery management plans for their regions and are intended to be compiled from stakeholders including the commercial fishing industry, recreational fishers, environmental groups and academia. 

A complete list of 2017 appointees is below (Asterisks preceding a member’s name indicate a reappointment):

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. 2017 appointees will fill four at-large seats.

At-large seats:

  •  *Peter Kendall (New Hampshire)
  • *Elizabeth Etrie (Massachusetts)
  • *John Pappalardo (Massachusetts)
  • Ernest F. Stockwell (Maine)

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. 2017 appointees will fill obligatory seats for Maryland, North Carolina, New York, Pennsylvania and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seats:

  • Earl Gwin (Maryland)
  • *Francis Hemilright (North Carolina)
  • Steven Heins (New York)
  • *G. Warren Elliott (Pennsylvania)

At-large seat:

  • *Laurie A. Nolan (New York)

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. 2017 appointees will fill two at-large seats.

At-large seats:

  • *William Brewer (Florida)
  • *Mark Brown (South Carolina)

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 2017 appointees will fill an obligatory seat for Puerto Rico.

Obligatory seat:

  • *Marcos R. Hanke (Puerto Rico)

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. 2017 appointees will fill three at-large seats.

At-large seats:

  • Phillip Dyskow (Florida)
  • Robert Shipp (Alabama)
  • *Gregory Stunz (Texas)

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. The Pacific Council also includes one Tribal seat. 2017 appointees will fill an obligatory seat for Washington and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

  • *Richard Lincoln (Washington)

At-large seat:

  • Bradley Pettinger (Oregon)

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from Alaska and Washington. 2017 appointees will fill obligatory seats for Alaska and Washington.

Obligatory seats:

  • *Simon Kinneen (Alaska)
  • *Kenneth Down (Washington)

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI). 2017 appointees will fill an obligatory seat for CNMI and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

  • *John Gourley (CNMI)

At-large seats:

  • Eo E. Mokoma (American Samoa)
  • *Edwin A. Ebisui (Hawaii)

The new and reappointed council members begin their three-year terms on 12 August.

Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500