NOAA Identifies Six Nations with IUU Fishing Issues


SeafoodSource staff

Published on
January 12, 2009

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration today submitted the first-ever report to Congress identifying six nations whose fishing vessels were engaged in illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing in 2007 or 2008.

The United States will consult with the government and industry officials from France, Italy, Libya, Panama, China and Tunisia to encourage them to take corrective action to stop IUU fishing.

“Illegal fishing is a global problem that is depleting fish stocks and hurting the economies of nations and the livelihoods of people who depend on sustainable fishing,” says Dr. Jim Balsiger, acting assistant administrator for the National Marine Fisheries Service. “Our report is part of stepped up efforts called for by Congress to work with other nations to stop illegal fishing on shared fish stocks.”

Following consultations, NOAA will formally certify each of the six nations either as adopting effective measures to stop IUU fishing or having vessels engaged in IUU fishing. If a nation is found to be engaged in IUU fishing, that nation’s vessels may be denied entry into U.S. ports and the U.S. president may prohibit imports of certain seafood products from that nation or take other measures.

Annual global economic losses due to IUU fishing are estimated at $9 billion, according to an international task force.

Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500