Russia adds countries to seafood trade ban


Sean Murphy, SeafoodSource online editor

Published on
August 13, 2015

Russian Prime Minister Dimitry Medvedev has announced the ban on agricultural products from Western nations will expand to four more countries, including Iceland.

According to the Associated Press, Medvedev announced the expansion Thursday, saying it would include Albania, Montenegro, Iceland and Liechtenstein. The countries join a list of Western nations now banned from exporting agricultural products, including seafood, to Russia.

The ban, first instituted last summer against products from the EU, the United States, Australia, Canada and Norway, was itself in response to economic sanctions from Western nations over Russia’s involvement on ongoing unrest in Ukraine.

Medvedev also threatened to extend the ban to Ukraine of negotiations break down next year between Russia and the EU over a Ukraine-EU free trade agreement.

Want seafood news sent to your inbox?

You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. Diversified Communications | 121 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101 | +1 207-842-5500